Download the GlopID-R charter

GloPID-R is led by a Chair and up to five Vice-Chairs who are elected at the Assembly from amongst the members and hold office for 2 years (renewable for a maximum of two consecutive terms). They work in close cooperation with the Secretariat, the Scientific Advisory Board and committees based on the delegation from the Assembly.

The Chairs convene the Annual General Assembly, where members meet face-to-face, and the regular 3-monthly teleconferences. Meetings may also be called by the Chairs should an urgent epidemic alert arise.

The Chairs propose the meeting agendas, determine items for information and decision between the meetings and oversee the work of the Secretariat.

During the Assembly, decisions are taken about the GloPID-R work programme that the Chairs and the Secretariat have prepared and proposed.

The second Annual General Assembly for the GloPID-R members was held on the 14th and 15th March 2016 at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in Washington D.C..

GloPID-R Chair

  • Yazdan Yazdanpanah, Director, Aviesan Institute of Immunology, Inflammation, Infectiology, and Microbiology

See biography

GloPID-R Vice Chairs

  • Walter Colli, Advisor, São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP)
  • Jeremy Farrar, Director, Wellcome Trust
  • Eung-Soo Hwang, Director, National Research Foundation of Korea
  • Line Matthiessen, Acting Director, Health Directorate, DG Research & Innovation, European Commission
  • Jeffrey Mphahlele, Vice President, South African Medical Research Council
  • Marc Ouellette, Scientific Director, Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)

See biographies

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), composed of some of the world’s preeminent specialists, provides opinion and recommendations in the event of an emerging threat to better target the research projects that should be funded.

The SAB advises the Chair and Vice-Chairs as well as the Secretariat on all scientific issues relevant to GloPID-R initiatives.

  • Felicity Jane Burt, University of the Free State and National Health Laboratory Service, South Africa
  • Youngmee Jee, National Institute of Health, Korea
  • Marion Koopmans, Department of Viroscience at Erasmus MC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
  • Ichiro Kurane, National Institute of Infectious Diseases, Japan
  • Rose Leke, Cameroon Academy of Sciences, Cameroon
  • Kevin Marsh, University of Oxford and African Academy of Sciences, Kenya
  • Jodie McVernon, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Vinh-Kim Nguyen, Graduate Institute in Geneva, Switzerland
  • Pierre Rollin, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, USA
  • Oscar Salomon, National Institute of Tropical Medicine, Argentina
  • Tania Sorrell, Medical School of the University of Sydney, Australia
  • Apiwat Tawatsin, Thai National Institute of Health, Department of Medical Sciences, Thailand
  • Julio Vazquez Moreno, National Centre of Microbiologylogy, Instituto de Salud Carlos III, Spain
  • Brian Ward, McGill Medical Faculty and National Reference Centre for Parasitology, Canada
  • Lothar Wieler, Robert Koch Institute and Berlin Freie Universität, Germany

See biographies


The GloPID-R Secretariat, which is the supporting structure for the initiative, is operated by Fondation Mérieux (representing the AVIESAN network) and the University of Oxford (representing the ISARIC network). This project receives funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 643434.

The Secretariat provides strategic, organisational, financial, administrative and secretarial support activities for the GloPID-R governance structure and ensures efficient information exchange amongst all GloPID-R members and stakeholders. It is coordinated by Fabien Quintard as adviser to Fondation Mérieux.

Another aim is to connect GloPID-R to relevant scientific networks and to map their scientific and operational status with regards to research response to emerging infectious diseases. The work of the Secretariat is also to facilitate the development of a strategic agenda and a response plan by the GloPID-R governance bodies that will serve as common and central guiding documents for all GloPID-R members and external stakeholders in achieving the mission of GloPID-R.

GloPID-R communication activities are also led by the Secretariat to ensure GloPID-R stakeholders are well-informed and aligned, and to raise public awareness about and engagement in the initiative.

Mérieux Foundation

  • Hubert Endtz, Scientific Coordinator
  • Susannah Carroll, Communication Officer
  • Severine Gomignani, Project Assistant
  • Xavier Gougelet, Financial Manager
  • Jason Soffe, Web Development Manager
  • Koren Wolman Tardy, Communication & Dissemination Work Package Leader
  • Richard Vaux, Project Manager

University of Oxford

  • Menno de Jong, Scientific Coordinator
  • Janine Burke, Financial Manager
  • Gail Carson, Connecting & Mapping Work Package Leader
  • Sarah Moore, Project Assistant
  • Kajsa-Stina Longuere, Programme Manager
GLOPID-R Secretariat